Wisconsin soybean farmers elected to national board

Categories: WSMBPublished On: January 23, 20231.4 min read

Share This

MADISON, Wisc. — Three Wisconsin soybean farmers have been appointed to the United Soybean Board, which was announced Nov. 28 by USDA.

Serving three-year terms on behalf of Wisconsin are:

  • Tony Mellenthin, Eau Galle
  • Sara R. Stelter, Wautoma
  • Nancy Kavazanjian, Beaver Dam

Kavazanjian was elected to a three-year term after a one-year appointment. Mellenthin is in his second term and Stelter is new to the board.

“We’re excited to have Tony, Sara and Nancy represent Wisconsin soybean farmers on the USB board,” said Pat Mullooly, who chairs the Wisconsin Soybean Marketing Board. “What I like most about these three is they are very qualified, they come from diverse farm backgrounds, and they represent different levels of experience on the board.”

Kavazanjian, Stelter and Mellenthin are part of a 43-member, four-alternate class. Each will serve three-year terms on the board, starting in December 2022 and ending in December 2025.

The appointments come on the heels of the Wisconsin Soybean Marketing Board’s quarterly meeting, where the board set direction to finish out the 2023 fiscal year. The board approved to fund a crush-plant feasibility study; to work on biodiesel adoption; to join Northern Soy Marketing, which promotes northern-grown soybeans and essential amino acids versus crude protein; and to set direction to further explore opportunities to export soy through the port of Milwaukee.

“We heard presentations on a variety of projects,” Mullooly said. “I think we had some quality projects. Our directors were engaged and asked tough but important questions, and I believe we set some really good direction. I’m excited for Wisconsin soybean farmers to see some of the good things that will be coming in the future.”